AIAOC Board of Directors

AIA Board members serve 2-year terms.  Many serve multiple 2-year terms.  The President serves 1 year as Vice President before moving into the President position.

“Non-Com”, the chapter’s nomination committee proposes people who they feel would be good directors.  They submit their recommendations to the Board for approval to be placed on the ballot.

Alternatively, candidates can be nominated from the floor at the September Chapter meeting.  Run-offs are done at the October Chapter meeting.  The directors serve calendar years.

If you are interested in joining the Board or helping on a committee, please contact Jeff Gill, our Executive Director to discuss what interests you and where you can help the Chapter.

Executive Committee

Brett Dougherty, AIA
Brett Dougherty, AIAPresident
Steve Kendrick, AIA
Steve Kendrick, AIA Treasurer
Tim Smallwood, AIA
Tim Smallwood, AIAVice President /2018 Pres-Elect
Debra Sands, AIA
Debra Sands, AIASecretary


Ozzie Tapia, AIA
Ozzie Tapia, AIADirector of Special Events
Salma Abdelghani, Associate AIA
Salma Abdelghani, Associate AIADirector of Emerging Professionals
Diane Mclean, FAIA
Diane Mclean, FAIADirector of Sustainability
David Molinaro, AIA
David Molinaro, AIADirector of Communications
Mark Kim, AIA
Mark Kim, AIADirector of Advocacy
Hye Jin Sweem, AIA
Hye Jin Sweem, AIADirector of Member Services
DaMarlon Carter, Assoc. AIA
DaMarlon Carter, Assoc. AIADirector of Membership
Jeffrey Gill, FAIA
Jeffrey Gill, FAIAExecutive Director

Representatives to AIA California Council

Mark Paone, AIA
Mark Paone, AIAMJPaia, Inc.